Connect with us


Llanelli suffer heavy loss to Aberavon



Aberavon RFC 40
Llanelli RFC 13

LLANELLI put in a lacklustre display away at fellow mid-table side Aberavon in a game where they never looked like taking the lead and failed to register a single point in the second half.

This was Llanelli’s penultimate away Principality Premiership fixture and it was never going to be an easy affair as Aberavon were defending an unbeaten home record for 2015.

Lethargic defence saw the home team run in two converted tries in the first 10 minutes.

With just 60 seconds on the clock Cameron Clement made a superb break and sent flanker Rob Dudley-Jones racing clear. Clement converted and did so again after a fine team try from deep in their own half that saw Sam Williams, Ben Thomas and David Pritchard all involved before Richard Carter touched down and Clement converted.

Llanelli hit back when a neat kick through the flat Wizards defence by Stuart Morris was read by Llanelli wing Justin James, who touched down. Morris added the extras before also adding two well-struck penalties to bring Llanelli to within a point.

But it was the home team who found another gear and began to turn the screw on Llanelli. Following another Clement penalty, number 8 Ben Thomas stormed across from a line-out for an interval lead of 22-13.

Another two penalties from Clement kept the scoreboard ticking and Aberavon finished the game as they had started, with a further two converted tries from Richard Carter and Joe Tomalin- Reeves to give the home side a bonus point win and in the process leapfrog Llanelli into seventh spot.

Llanelli will be bitterly disappointed with their performance and will require a vast improvement when they host runaway leaders Pontypridd at Parc y Scarlets on Sunday March 22, kick off 2.30pm.

LLANELLI TEAM: Ellis Phillips; Kyle Evans; Richard Thomas; Craig Woodall; Justin James; Stuart Morris; Jonathan Rogers: Rhys Thomas; Darran Harris; Ben Leung; Adam Powell; Ed Price; Craig Price; Josh Middleton; Roy Osborn

REPLACEMENTS: Taylor Davies; Torin Myhill; Gareth Havard; Liam Puckett; Trystan Lloyd; Declan Smith; Matthew Pearce; Sam Evans.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Ammanford well beaten by Port Talbot



AMMANFORD slipped closer to the foot of Premier One with a high-scoring defeat to Port Talbot Town at The New Mansel.

Ammanford were put in to bat on a glorious afternoon and made hay while the sun shone with an opening partnership of 61 between Matthew Fisher and Alun Evans.

When Fisher departed for 40, Daniel Evans took over and his partnership with his skipper took the score to 155 before Roberts was caught on 49.

When Evans fell for an anchoring 86, the Davies brothers, Rhodri (28no) and Rhys (22no) saw out the Ammanford innings, taking their total to a formidable 259 for 4.

Formidable it may have been, but Port Talbot’s batsmen were up to the challenge.

Glamorgan’s Nick Selman led the charge before he was dismissed by Fisher for 47.

The main partnership of 123, however, came between Joseph Voke (84) and Matthew Thompson (74no).

There were still three overs remaining when Port Talbot cruised past the Ammanford total for the loss of 3 wickets.

Things won’t get much easier for Ammanford next week when Newport visit the Park.

Ammanford seconds v Ynystawe

Ammanford seconds continued their miserable sequence of defeats with a 4 wicket loss to Ynystawe at the Park.

A promising start from Eirian Morgan (13) and David Lumb (17) preceded a middle order collapse which was rescued by a terrific individual performance from captain Jamie Evans, whose 76 helped Ammanford reach 167 all out.

Ynystawe’s middle order by contrast kept the scoreboard ticking over, an undefeated partnership between Rowan Evans (31no) and Arun Maurya (26no) taking them past Ammanford’s total with four wickets and 16 overs to spare.

Continue Reading


Ammanford march on in Welsh Cup



AMMANFORD progressed smoothly into the next round of the Welsh Cup by beating Pembroke Dock by 91 runs at the Park on Sunday (Jun 6).

The Pembrokeshire League Division 2 side were playing in the competition for the first time in 15 years and were excited for the game.

Ammanford batted first and amassed 161 for 9. Their main scorers were Owen Davies (36), Matthew Davies (21) and Rhodri Davies (24).

Nick Daley finished with excellent figures of 4-23 while George Smith took 2-28.

Pembroke Dock were never up with the required rate, and despite a defiant 34 from Billy Wood, they were dismissed for 92.

Tom Grimwood added 10 and Archie Hillier-Wood added 11 but it wasn’t to be for the Dock.

Llyr Morgan and Iestyn Jones took three wickets each, backed by Matthew Fisher with 2 for 4.

Next Sunday, Ammanford are away to Carmarthen Wanderers in the SWCA T20 Knockout, whilst their Third XI play at the Park in the Intermediate Cup.

Continue Reading


Walters’ century sees off Ammanford seconds



CARMARTHEN Wanderer’s Leighton Walters scored a century to help his side to victory over Ammanford seconds on Saturday (May 22).

Ammanford’s first XI saw their game rained off at the Park but the seconds were able to play twenty miles away in Carmarthen.

It wasn’t to be Ammanford’s day though as they lost by 115 runs.

Batting first, Wanderers amassed an impressive 218 for 3 in their 40 overs.

The highlight was undoubtedly a century from opener Leighton Walters which included 12 fours and 4 sixes.

He was well supported by Andrew Edwards (45no) and Liam Rogers (22).

Ammanford had no reply, with only three of their batsmen creeping into double figures.

They were dismissed for 103 inside 30 overs.

Kai Summers (4-17) and Steffan Jones (3-13) were the home team’s chief wicket takers.

Next week, Ammanford’s firsts entertain early league leaders Cardiff at the Park.

Continue Reading